Home » Sports » Football » Ohio State’s Joey Bosa named 1st team AP All-American; J.T. Barrett, Michael Bennett make 3rd team

Ohio State’s Joey Bosa named 1st team AP All-American; J.T. Barrett, Michael Bennett make 3rd team

Individual awards kept rolling in for the Buckeyes on Tuesday as one player was named a first team Associated Press All-American and two others picked up third team honors.

Sophomore defensive lineman Joey Bosa was named to the first team while senior defensive lineman Michael Bennett and redshirt-freshman quarterback J.T. Barrett each garnered third-team honors.

The first team All-American selection for Bosa adds to an already successful awards season, as Bosa was a finalist for the Chuck Bednarik — given to the nation’s most outstanding defensive player — and the Rotary Lombardi Award for the top lineman or linebacker in the country. Bosa was also named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and Defensive Lineman of the Year and was named first team All-Big Ten by both the coaches and the media in a unanimous vote.

Bosa led the Buckeyes with 13.5 sacks and 20 tackles for loss, putting him atop the Big Ten in both categories. He needs just half a sack to tie Vernon Gholston for the program record of 14 in a season.

Bosa has been named to both the AP and the Walter Camp All-American teams, he only needs to be named an All-American by the Football Writers Association of America, The Sporting News or the American Football Coaches Association to be considered a consensus All-American.

OSU has boasted 78 consensus All-Americans, including cornerback Malcolm Jenkins, linebacker A.J. Hawk, linebacker James Laurinaitis and quarterback Troy Smith.

Barrett finished fifth in Heisman Trophy voting and set the Big Ten and OSU record for total touchdowns in a season with 45, despite suffering a broken ankle in OSU’s regular-season finale against Michigan.

Bennett was previously named a first-team All-American by CBS Sports and also picked up an invite to the 2014 Senior Bowl, during which he is set to represent the Buckeyes with senior tight end Jeff Heuerman and senior cornerback Doran Grant.

The Buckeyes are set to face Alabama in the first-ever College Football Playoff on New Years Day in the Sugar Bowl. Kickoff in New Orleans is set for 8:30 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.