Ohio State redshirt-freshman quarterback J.T. Barrett finished fifth in the Heisman Trophy voting after a record-setting season as the Buckeyes’ starter.

Barrett — who fractured his ankle in OSU’s regular season finale against Michigan — led the Buckeyes to an 11-1 record as a starter and set school records for total touchdowns, total yards and passing touchdowns in a season. His 45 total touchdowns also set a new Big Ten single-season record, breaking the mark previously held by current New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees.

The Wichita Falls, Texas, native finished behind Heisman winner and Oregon redshirt-junior quarterback Marcus Mariota, Alabama junior wide receiver Amari Cooper, Wisconsin redshirt-junior running back Melvin Gordon and Texas Christian University redshirt-junior quarterback Trevone Boykin on the final ballot.

Barrett didn’t receive any first-place votes, but registered 19 second place votes and 40 third-place nods for 78 total points. Mariota received 788 first-place votes, giving him 2,534 total points and the trophy.

A Buckeye quarterback has now finished in the top 10 in Heisman voting for three straight seasons, and in the top five in two of the past three years. Senior quarterback Braxton Miller was fifth in 2012 and finished ninth last season.

Six OSU players have won the Heisman, while the program has registered seven total trophies. Former Buckeye Archie Griffin won the award in both 1974 and 1975, making him the only two-time Heisman recipient. OSU’s most recent Heisman winner is Troy Smith, who picked up the award in 2006 after setting a then-school record with 30 touchdown passes in a season. That record stood until Barrett broke it this season.

Barrett replaced Miller as OSU’s starter less than two weeks before the season opener when Miller tore the labrum in his throwing shoulder.

In his 12 games as the starter, Barrett totaled 2,834 passing yards with 34 touchdowns and 10 interceptions while adding another 938 yards and 11 touchdowns on the ground.

When he fractured his ankle against the Wolverines, the Rider High School product was replaced by redshirt-sophomore quarterback Cardale Jones.

Jones went on to lead the Buckeyes to a 59-0 thrashing of then-No. 13 Wisconsin in the Big Ten Championship Game, boosting OSU into the first-ever College Football Playoff.

Without the services of Barrett, Jones and the Buckeyes are set to take on Alabama in the Sugar Bowl on New Years Day in a playoff semifinal matchup. Kickoff is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. in New Orleans.

Heisman top 10:

  1. Mariota
  2. Gordon
  3. Cooper
  4. Boykin
  5. Barrett
  6. Jameis Winston, redshirt-sophomore quarterback, Florida State
  7. Tevin Coleman, junior running back, Indiana
  8. Dak Prescott, redshirt-junior quarterback, Mississippi State
  9. Scooby Wright III, sophomore linebacker, Arizona
  10. Bryce Petty, redshirt-senior quarterback, Baylor