Ohio State redshirt sophomore quarterback Dwayne Haskins (7) looks to throw the ball downfield in the first half of the Big Ten Championship Game vs. Northwestern on Dec. 1. Ohio State won 45-24. Credit: Casey Cascaldo | Photo Editor

After a record-breaking season in his first year as starter for Ohio State, redshirt sophomore quarterback Dwayne Haskins’ run at the NCAA’s top prize falls short.

On Saturday, Haskins finished behind Oklahoma redshirt junior quarterback Kyler Murray and Alabama sophomore quarterback Tua Tagovailoa in the Heisman trophy voting.

Murray finished in first with Tagovailoa coming in at No. 2 296 points behind.

Haskins finished in a distant third after finishing No. 1 in the NCAA in both passing yards (4,580) and passing touchdowns (47). He finished with seven more touchdowns through the air than anyone in the nation.

Haskins earned 46 of 870 first-place votes, and ended the voting with 783 points. Murray won with 2,167 points.

Tagovailoa led the Crimson Tide to an undefeated 13-0 record and the No. 1 seed in the College Football Playoff, while Murray led a 12-1 campaign for the Sooners, good for No. 4 in the playoff.

In his first season under center for the Buckeyes, Haskins went 12-1, including a 62-39 win against then-No. 4 Michigan and a 45-24 victory against then-No. 21 Northwestern, where he threw for 499 yards and five touchdowns en route to Ohio State’s second-straight Big Ten Championship.

Haskins is the first Ohio State Heisman nominee since quarterback Troy Smith in 2006, who ended up winning the trophy. Smith was the seventh winner in program history, tied with Notre Dame, and now Oklahoma after Murray’s win, for the most of any team in the NCAA.

With Haskins already securing the Big Ten single-season record for total touchdowns and total yards, he will have one more chance to add to his stats when No. 6 Ohio State takes on No. 9 Washington in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1.

Updated at 9:14 p.m. to include vote totals