Urban Meyer and Gene Smith listen as President Drake speaks at a press conference on on Aug. 22, 2018. Credit: Casey Cascaldo | Photo Editor

The College Football Playoff committee announced Friday that Ohio State athletic director Gene Smith has stepped down from his post on the College Football Playoff selection committee after two years.

Smith said that his focus is now on first-year Ohio State head coach Ryan Day.

“Serving on this committee has been an honor,” Smith said in the release. “Contributing to this great sport is always a privilege, and I will miss the time with my colleagues. It is imperative for me to have 100% focus in helping our new coach with his transition at The Ohio State University this fall.”

According to Bill Hancock, the executive director of the College Football Playoff, Smith was an “invaluable member” of the committee given his experience as both a former student-athlete, coach and collegiate administrator.

“This is a significant time commitment, and we understand Gene’s need to focus on his primary responsibility on campus,” Hancock said.

Iowa athletic director Gary Barta will replace Smith on the committee.