Ohio State junior defensive end Chase Young (2) attempts to evade Michigan graduate offensive lineman Jon Runyan (75) during the second half of the game at Michigan Stadium Nov. 30. Ohio State won 56-27. Credit: Amal Saeed | Photo Editor

Chase Young earned the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded to the defensive player of the year in college football, Monday.

The junior defensive end leads the nation with 16.5 sacks this season, a school record for Ohio State. He is tied for No. 4 in the country for tackles for loss with 21.

Young is the second Buckeye to win the award after former linebacker James Laurinaitas took home the hardware in 2006.

Ohio State continues its season with the College Football Playoff semifinal at the Fiesta Bowl Dec. 28.