Ohio State sophomore quarterback Justin Fields (1) runs the ball down the field during the first half of the game against Michigan at Michigan Stadium Nov. 30. Ohio State won 56-27. Credit: Amal Saeed | Photo Editor

Not one, but two Buckeyes will represent Ohio State in New York as Heisman Trophy finalists Saturday.

Junior defensive end Chase Young and sophomore quarterback Justin Fields were both named finalists for the award on ESPN Monday, as Ohio State becomes just the fifth school to have multiple finalists since they were first invited to New York in 1982.

Young’s 16.5 sacks lead the nation and are a single-season record at Ohio State, and his 1.9 tackles for loss per game are No. 1 in the country.

Fields is the first quarterback in conference history to throw for 40 touchdowns and run for 10 more. He’s thrown just one interception this season, and with 50 total touchdowns, he is four away from tying former quarterback Dwayne Haskins for the most in Big Ten history.

Joining Young and Fields in New York are LSU redshirt senior quarterback and former Buckeye Joe Burrow and Oklahoma senior quarterback Jalen Hurts.

This is the second straight year a Buckeye will be a Heisman Trophy finalist, as Haskins came in third in 2018.

Former quarterback Troy Smith is most recent Buckeye to win the award, as he was the Heisman Trophy winner in 2006, joining five other Buckeyes.

Quarterbacks have won eight of the past 10 Heisman trophy awards.

The ceremony will take place Saturday at 8 p.m. on ESPN.