Gov. John Kasich celebrates the news of his re-election at the Franklin County Republican Election Night event on Nov. 4 at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. Credit: Yann Schreiber / Lantern reporter

Gov. John Kasich celebrates the news of his re-election at the Franklin County Republican Election Night event on Nov. 4 at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. Credit: Yann Schreiber / Lantern reporter

Gov. John Kasich was elected to a second term Tuesday in the Ohio midterm election, according to the Associated Press.

Kasich ran with Lt. Gov. Mary Taylor, representing the Republican party. Ed FitzGerald, a Cuyahoga County executive, ran for governor with attorney Sharen Neuhardt for lieutenant governor, representing the Democrat party. Anita Rios ran with co-chair of the Ohio and Franklin County Green Parties Bob Fitrakis, representing the Green Party.

Kasich thanked his campaign staff at his election watch party and said he was excited to continue.

“It’s a pretty amazing night for me. I don’t understand it and I’m humbled by it,” Kasich said. “In this state, we have built a much stronger economy. We’re nowhere near done … Over the next few years, we need to reclaim our community, reclaim our schools, and reclaim those who have been isolated.”

FitzGerald tweeted about his loss from his account, @FitzGeraldForOH: “Thank you to all of our volunteers & supporters. We may not have won, but there is still much we all must do for Ohio’s working families.”

The election also included statewide executive office positions, the Ohio General Assembly, state representatives, the state Board of Education, county offices and judicial offices.

Republican Attorney General Mike DeWine won the attorney general race against attorney David Pepper, who represented the Democratic party.

DeWine made a promise to the audience at the election watch party.

“I promised when you elected me that I would not waste a day. I make that same promise to you tonight. I will not waste a day. We now have four more years to continue our mission,” he said.

Secretary of State Jon Husted, representing the Republican party, was re-elected. He ran against:

  • Democrat Nina Turner, the state senate minority whip
  • Libertarian Kevin Knedler, state party chair

Husted said overall, it’s all about improving things for the future.

“It’s about all of us trying to make things better for the next generation … We’re just getting started,” he said. “The Republicans are going to have a great night … with it comes a great responsibility to lead, to listen and to serve. We’re going to make Ohio the greatest state in the nation.”

Republican State Auditor Dave Yost won re-election as well, running against:

  • Democrat John Patrick Carney, a state representative
  • Libertarian Bob Bridges, state party vice chair

State treasurer Josh Mandel, representing the Republican party, won re-election against Democrat Connie Pillich, a state representative.

Ohio State 2013 alumnus Niraj Antani, a Republican, was elected as a representative in the Ohio House of Representatives, according to the Dayton Daily News.

He issued a statement after his election that said: “I am honored to have been elected to represent the 42nd district. I am looking forward to serving and fighting for my constituents every day. Together, we will create opportunities for all to achieve their American Dream.”

Former OSU Undergraduate Student Government President Micah Kamrass, a Democrat, lost against Republican Jonathan Dever — the founder of a law firm and a technology company — for Ohio House representative, according to The Cincinnati Enquirer.

The Ohio representatives in U.S. Congress, according to Associated Press (winners bolded):

District 1: Republican Steve Chabot, Democrat Fred Kundrata

District 2: Republican Brad Wenstrup, Democrat Marek Tyszkiewicz

District 3: Democrat Joyce Beatty, Republican John Adams, write-in candidate Ralph Applegate

District 4: Republican Jim Jordan, Democrat Janet Garrett

District 5: Republican Bob Latta, Democrat Robert Fry, Libertarian Eric Eberly

District 6: Republican Bill Johnson, Democrat Jennifer Garrison, Green Party candidate Dennis Lambert

District 7: Republican Bob Gibbs

District 8: Republican John Boehner, Democrat Tom Poetter, Constitution Party Jim Condit Jr.

District 9: Democrat Marcy Kaptur, Republican Richard May, write-in candidate Cory Hoffman, write-in candidate George Skalsky

District 10: Republican Mike Turner, Democrat Robert Klepinger, Libertarian David Harlow

District 11: Democrat Marcia Fudge, Republican Mark Zetzer

District 12: Republican Pat Tiberi, Democrat David Tibbs, Green Party candidate Bob Hart

District 13: Democrat Tim Ryan, Republican Thomas Pekarek, write-in candidate David Allen Pastorius

District 14: Republican David Joyce, Democrat Michael Wager, Libertarian David Macko

District 15: Republican Steve Stivers, Democrat Scott Wharton

District 16: Republican Jim Renacci, Democrat Pete Crossland