Home » Sports » Ohio State women’s lacrosse falls to Florida in conference semifinals

Ohio State women’s lacrosse falls to Florida in conference semifinals

Abby Sweet / Lantern photographer

The 14th-ranked Ohio State women’s lacrosse team fell short, 5-4, against Florida in the ALC Tournament semifinals Friday night at Dizney Stadium in Gainesville, Fla., following a 10-9 victory in overtime against Vanderbilt during the quarterfinals.
The Buckeyes are 11-6 on the season, while the Gators went on to defeat Northwestern, 14-7, in the ALC Tournament Championship Saturday.
Freshman goalie Tori DeScenza was named All-ALC, and finished the game with 15 blocked shots, one away from her career high.
“I think their goalie played phenomenal,” junior attacker Kitty Cullen, the Gators’ second-leading scorer, told reporters. “She was able to stop us all over the place and she did a really awesome job.”
Senior attacker Alayna Markwordt was also named All-ALC, and scored the first three of OSU’s four goals. Senior midfielder Gabby Capuzzi added the fourth, which put the Buckeyes within one point during the final seconds of the game.
“Our attack was just working together, and when the opportunities came up we just capitalized on them,” Markwordt said to reporters. “Getting the draw control was really crucial, so we just moved it down the field and the opportunity was there.”
The Buckeye’s defensive effort held the Gators to five goals which is their lowest scoring output in the last two seasons.
“I think we came in with a good game plan,” said Alexis Venechanos, OSU head coach, in a press release. “I am really proud of how our athletes competed to the very end. We had our backs against the wall a bit playing a day prior, but we didn’t use that as an excuse. I am very proud of the way we competed. We made some adjustments at halftime and got the draw, and I am just very proud to be sitting here.”
The Buckeyes’ were not selected to participate in the NCAA Tournament Sunday.
The Buckeyes last appeared in the tournament in 2002 and 2003.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.