Dwayne Haskins gets interviewed following the Rose Bowl Game featuring Ohio State and Washington in Pasadena, Calif. on Jan. 1. Ohio State won 28-23. Credit: Casey Cascaldo | Multimedia Editor

Former Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins became the first football player to win Ohio State Male Athlete of the year since former Heisman Trophy winner Troy Smith in 2007 on Wednesday.

Haskins was a finalist for the Heisman Trophy after throwing for 4,831 yards and 50 touchdowns during a 13-1 Ohio State season capped by a 28-23 victory against Washington in the Rose Bowl.

After just one season as the starter under center, Haskins set 28 Ohio State records and seven in the Big Ten, including passing yards and touchdowns.

The Washington Redskins selected Haskins No. 15 overall in April’s NFL Draft.

Haskins will now be eligible for Big Ten Athlete of the Year, having previously won the Big Ten’s Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year and Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year awards following the football season.

Haskins becomes the 10th football player to win Ohio State’s Male Athlete of the Year award.