Ohio State junior defensive end Chase Young (2) attempts to evade Michigan graduate offensive lineman Jon Runyan (75) during the second half of the game at Michigan Stadium Nov. 30. Ohio State won 56-27. Credit: Amal Saeed | Photo Editor

He won’t play another snap for more than two weeks, but Chase Young hasn’t stopped making firsts for Ohio State.

The junior defensive end became the first Buckeye ever to win the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the nation’s best defensive player, Thursday at the College Football Awards on ESPN.

Young’s 16.5 sacks not only set the new single-season record at Ohio State, but they lead the nation. With 21 tackles for loss in 11 games, Young’s 1.9 per game are the most in college football.

The next closest Buckeye has five sacks on the season.

Young beat out Auburn senior defensive tackle Derrick Brown and Clemson redshirt junior linebacker Isaiah Simmons for the honor.

The Bednarik is one more award in an ever-expanding trophy case for Young this season, which includes the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and Defensive Lineman of the Year, the Hendricks Award, Nagurski Trophy and the Chicago Tribune Silver Football Award.

Young is a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, which will be revealed Saturday at 8 p.m. on ESPN.